The Rochelle Liebling Kahan Memorial Fund Competition for Child Piano Prodigies, held on March 11, 2017, is proud to announce the outstanding winners for its thirteenth season! Our young artists performed beautifully for the Annual Spring Luncheon on April 18, supported by their family members, teachers, contest judges, Kahan committee members, and  HTMC audience and friends, including the teacher and principal of the first place winner!

First Place: Takaaki Suzuki, age 8, student of Dr. Kana Mimaki
Second Place: Seung Hyun (Christine) Choi, age 9, student of Shu Hao Pao
Third Place: Seoyoung (Trinity) Yun, age 9, student of Katarina Loudermilk

The Rochelle Liebling Kahan Memorial Fund Competition for Child Piano Prodigies was established in 2005 in memory of Rochelle Liebling Kahan by her family. Rochelle was a past president of HTMC, and was herself a former child piano prodigy. Her family chose to have the competition presented under the auspices of our organization. The contest is open to Houston area children between the ages of 6 and 9. Now entering its thirteenth year, it has proven to be enormously popular with students and teachers. The level of talent shown by the participants is astonishingly high. Many of our young winners are already beginning to make their mark as musicians. The first prize is entirely underwritten by the Liebling Kahan family; a second and third prize has been added by the club. The three winners perform each year at the HTMC annual Spring Luncheon in April at The Junior League of Houston, where they receive their monetary prizes and award certificates from Dr. Kara Kahan, Rochelle’s daughter. We are grateful to our highly qualified and talented judges:  Cynthia Blackwell, Bonner Cutting and Dr. Jane Perkyns

For more information, contact Suzanne Marion at

Suzanne Marion and Susan Fischman, Co-chairs

2017 Kahan Competition Winners Takaaki Suzuki,
Seung Hyun Choi, and Seoyoung Yun

Dr. Kara Kahan

First Place winner
Takaaki Suzuki

Second Place winner
Seung Hyun (Christine) Choi

Third Place winner
Seoyoung (Trinity) Yun

Past Winners (2005 - 2017)