Young, emerging artists have a special relationship with Houston Tuesday Musical Club.  For thirty years, we have held the Ruth Burr Competition to encourage the artistry and careers of young adults between the ages of 18 and 26. Spring 2019 will be the Ruth Burr Piano Competition. A similar competition for vocal and instrumental contestants is held alternately.

The competition will be held on Saturday, April 6, 2019, from 9:00am - 3:00pm at St. Philip Presbyterian Church, 4807 San Felipe, Houston, Texas. Applications will be accepted beginning February 22, 2019 until the March 18, 2019 deadline. For details, please download the Qualifications and Applications forms. You may contact Susan Fischman, Competition Chairman, for further information at

The awards are First Prize, $5,000.00, Second Prize, $2,500.00 and Third Prize, $1,000.00. Three judges, one from the club and two from the wider community, award these prizes. Winners of the competition will perform at the Spring Luncheon on April 23, 2019, held at The Junior League of Houston, at which time, they will receive their awards and certificates.

And now about Miss Ruth Burr. Ruth Burr was a longtime member of the club and lived a life completely devoted to the study and teaching of piano. Several generations of pianists and teachers have been inspired by her skill as an educator and as an artist. The year following her death, the first Ruth Burr Competition was established in her honor

For those who wish to sponsor or donate to one of the prizes, please go to Support.

Meet the winners of the 2018 Ruth Burr Competition for Vocalists:

Rebekah Howell, First Prize
Rebekah received a Bachelors of Music in Vocal Performance from Baylor University and a Master of Music in Vocal Performance from the Jacobs School of Music at Indiana University. In the fall, Rebekah will join Opera Colorado as a Resident Artist where she will be featured throughout their 2018-2019 season. Among her numerous awards, Rebekah was the national winner of the Music Teacher’s National Association 2014 Young Artist Vocal Competition and a finalist in the 2014 Dallas Opera Guild Competition. In 2015, she received the Encouragement Award at the New Orleans District Metropolitan Opera National Council Auditions.

Lindsay Kate Brown, Second Prize
Lindsay, who is an Artist Diploma candidate in Opera Studies at Rice University, received her graduate degree in Opera Studies at Binghamton University in May 2016 and her undergraduate degrees in both Vocal Performance and Music Education at Mansfield University of Pennsylvania in December 2013. In February 2018, Lindsay was awarded third place in Houston Grand Opera’s Eleanor McCollum Competition for Young Singers. She was awarded an Encouragement Award in the New Orleans District of the Metropolitan Opera National Council Auditions in March 2018. This summer, Lindsay will be a young artist at the Des Moines Metro Opera in Des Moines, Iowa. In August, Lindsay will join the prestigious Houston Grand Opera as a Studio Artist.

Kaarin Phelps, Third Prize
Kaarin garners enthusiastic praise from critics and peers, not only for her “beautiful line and effortless high notes,” but also her dramatic and hilarious interpretation of diverse repertoire. She has been awarded prizes in multiple prestigious competitions such as The Kristen Lewis Scholarship Auditions, the Tuesday Musical Competitions of both San Antonio and Houston, Opera Connecticut’s American Opera Idol Competition and the Madame Rose Palmai-Tenser Competition with Mobile Opera. Kaarin holds a Bachelor’s of Music from the Hartt School, and will appear onstage with the Moores Opera Center in the upcoming 2018-2019 season, where she will complete her Master’s Degree in Vocal Performance under the tutelage of Melanie Sonnenberg.

Susan Fischman, Chairman, 2019 Ruth Burr Competition